Wednesday, 1 December 2021: Celebrating our 2021 National NAIDOC Awards winners

01 December 2021


Senator McCarthy: I'm proud and excited to share with the Senate the news of this year's national NAIDOC Award recipients. These annual awards recognise the outstanding contributions of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people make in this country in their communities and with their families. Whether it is sport or social justice, the winners demonstrate strength in maintaining culture and working towards a better society. The 10 winners include: Female Elder of the Year, Christobel Swan, from Central Australia; Pat O'Shane AM took the Lifetime Achievement Award; Ernest Hoolihan was Male Elder of the Year 2021; Artist of the Year was Bobbi Lockyer, Scholar of the Year was Sasha Purcell; and Apprentice of the Year was Jarron Andy.

I encourage senators and everybody listening to go to the website and look at all of the winners, in particular their stories. I wish personally to acknowledge my uncle and family in Booroolola and Gadrian Hoosan, who received the Caring for Country Award, and all those who look after country. Finally, the Sportsperson of the Year is my son, CJ McCarthy-Grogan. I give a special shout-out to you, CJ. It's been an enormous year, particularly with the disruption to your studies overseas. It was wonderful to have had you back in Australia. To have you representing the Australian Paralympics wheelchair basketball team is an absolute honour. I know that you are incredibly humbled by the recognition not only from your peers across the country but also from the Northern Territory NAIDOC committee because of your work for people with disabilities and their families. Thank you, son, for being so inspiring to all Australians.